Actress Trine Dyrholm has been nominated for a European Film Award for her role in Thomas Vinterberg´s THE COMMUNE, which is produced by Zentropa. 


This is far from the first recognition Dyrholm has received for her performance in THE COMMUNE. At Berlin International Film Festival 2016, Dyrholm won the Silver Bear for Best Actress for her performance as Anne. 


During her career so far, Dyrhom has proven to be one of the strongest contemporary European actresses. Her former roles include the leading role in Susanne Bier´s Academy Award® and Golden Globe winning, IN A BETTER WORLD (2010), the role as Pia in Thomas Vinterberg´s Cannes winner and THE CELEBRATION (1998), amongst others. 


The nomination today marks the continuation of the path of success for THE COMMUNE. Alongside being in Competition at Berlin 2016 and selected for Toronto International Film Festival this past fall, the film is nearly sold out worldwide and was a great box-office-hit domestically. 


In addition to Trine Dyrholm, the film features Ulrich Thomsen (IN A BETTER WORLD, 2010; MORTDECAI, 2015), Helene Reingaard Neumann (SUBMARINO, 2010), Fares Fares (CHILD 44, 2015; A CONSPIRACY OF FAITH, 2016) and Lars Ranthe (THE HUNT, 2012) among others. It is written by Thomas Vinterberg and Tobias Lindholm who also co-wrote Vinterberg´s previous films SUBMARINO (2010) and THE HUNT (2012). 


The film has been sold to U.S. (Magnolia),  France (Le Pacte), UK (Artificial Eye), Germany, Liechtenstein and Austria (Prokino Filmverleih GmbH), Italy (BIM Distribuzione), Spain (Golem Distribución), Portugal (Alambique), Switzerland (Praesens-Film AG), Benelux (September Film), Korea (Challan), China (DD Dream International Media), Russia (Silver Box), Greece/Cyprus (Seven Films), Estonia (EstinFilm), Romania (Independenta Film), Czech/Slovakia (Film Europe), Former Yugoslavia (MCF Megacom Film), Poland (Gutek Film Ltd.), Brazil (California Filmes) and Hungary (Vertigo Media Ltd.), Bulgaria (Euro Films Ltd.), Lithuania (Europos Kinas JSC), Latvia (Biedriba RSKF.), Colombia (Babilla Ciné), Taiwan (Cineplex Development Co.), Hong Kong (Sundream Motion Pictures LTD.), Israel (Shani Films Lev Cinemas) and Turkey (Kurmaca Film).


THE COMMUNE is produced by Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Morten Kaufmann for Zentropa Entertainments19 in co-operation with Toolbox Film, co-produced by Film Väst, Zentropa International Sweden, Topkapi Films and Zentropa International Netherlands with support from Danish Film Institute, DR, Eurimages, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, The Netherlands Film Fund, Swedish Film Institute and the MEDIA programme of the European Union.


On behalf of TrustNordisk - a big congratulations to Trine Dyrholm!