IDFA unveils prize nominations

By Wendy Mitchell // SCREENDAILY



The International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) has announced the following prizes at its industry FORUM: The Central Pitch winner was Tea Time and The Roundtable Pitch winner was The Manor.

Chile´s Tea Time, directed by Maite Aberdi and produced by Clara Taricco (Micromundo) is about a group of elderly women who continue to meet for tea as they have for six decades.
The Manor, from Canada´s Shawney Cohen and produced by Paul Scherzer (Six Island) is about a filmmaker who tries to reconnect with his dysfunctional family, which runs a strip club.

Also, the festival has announced the nominations for its main programme sections.
The winners will be announced on Friday along with the audience award winner.
The nominees are:

Feature-Length Documentary
The Ambassador by Mads Brugger (Denmark)
Bad Weather by Giovanni Giommi (Germany/UK)
Planet of Snail by Seung-Jun Yi (South Korea)

Mid-Length Documentary
Going up the Stairs by Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami (Iran)
Habana Muda by Eric Brach (France)
Montenegro by Jorge Gaggero (Argentina)

First Appearance
Ballroom Dancer by Andreas Koefoed and Christian Bonke (Denmark)
I Was Born in Delhi... by Bishnu Dev Halder (India)
The Vanishing Spring Light by Xun Yu (China/Canada)

Student Documentary
The Betrayal by Karen Winther (UK/Norway)
If It Weren´t for You (the Netherlands) by Anne-Marieke Graafmans (Netherlands)
Tilman in Paradise by Julian Vogel (Germany)

Dutch Documentary
900 Days by Jessica Gorter
Jerome Jerome by Petra Lataster-Czisch and Peter Lataster
Stories from Lakka Beach by Daan Veldhuizen

Green Screen Documentary
Bitter Seeds by Micha X. Peled (US/India)
Raising Resistance by Betina Borgfeld and David Bernet (Germany/Switzerland)
Semper Fi: Always Faithful by Rachel Libert and Tony Hardmon (US)

BlackBerry IDFA DOC U Award
Koran by Heart by Greg Barker (US-UK)
The Last Days of Winter by Mehrdad Oskouei (Iran)
To Be Heard by Edwin Martinez, Roland Legiardi-Laura, Deborah Shaffer and Amy Sultan (US)

DocLab Award for Digital Storytelling by Philippe Archontakis and Pascal Brouard (Canada/France)
Beyond 9/11 by Kira Pollack (US)
Insitu by Antoine Viviani (France)