Another Round takes home first Danish Bafta Best Foreign Film in 32 years

By Annika Pham / Nordisk Film & TV Fond



Thomas Vinterberg’s celebration of life is only the second Danish film to win the prestigious British film award after Gabriel Axel’s Babette’s Feast.

Sunday night was another triumphal evening for the Danish director Thomas Vinterberg, his cast and crew and producers Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Kasper Dissing at Zentropa.

Nominated with Andrei Konchalovsky’s Dear Comrades!, Ladj Ly’s Les Misérables, Lee Isaac Chung/Christina Oh’s Mirari and Jasmila Žbanić/Damir Ibrahimovich’s Quo Vadis, Aida?Another Round won the coveted Bafta statuette for Best Film - Not In The English Language, only the second time ever for a Danish film.

Jokingly commenting via a live transmission on the BBC about his prize, Vinterberg said: “I had a suspicion that you Brits might like a film about drinking.” The director went on thanking his co-writer Tobias Lindholm, the cast & crew, Zentropa producers, US distributor Samuel Goldwyn, Cinetic Media among others. using a more serious tone, he dedicated his award to his daughter Ida who passed away in 2019. “She [Ida] was more enthusiastic about this project than anyone else has ever been” reminded the director.

Another Round was Vinterberg’s third Bafta nomination for Best Film - Not in the English-Language after The Hunt (2013) and his debut feature The Celebration (2000). The film was running in another three categories for Best Director, Best Actor (Mads Mikkelsen) and Best Original Screenplay.

The Bafta awards ceremony is the last major stop before Oscars’ voting starts April 15. The Danish Oscar entry is vying both for Best International Feature and Best Director. The 93rd Academy Awards will be held April 26.

Released in Denmark by Nordisk Film, Another Round was the 2020 biggest hit with more than 800,000 admissions. It is sold worldwide by TrustNordisk.

Studiocanal will release it in the UK and Ireland June 25.


    Film info

    Film title

    Another Round


    Thomas Vinterberg




    116 min